THE FRATELLIS – The Fratellis (CD EP)

The Fratellis CoverIsland CID924: 3rd April 2006
1. Creepin' Up The Backstairs
"Climbing in the window, get dressed, let’s go, take your brother’s car keys, bye, bye"
2. Stacie Anne
"You know I'll break your fingers, and I'll break your toes, you know my dealer takes me everywhere he goes"
3. The Gutterati?
"I'll help you any way that I can"

For some reason I thought that The Fratellis were an awful cock-rock band. Thankfully they're not, thankfully they're genius. It's difficult to put into words how much fun 'Creepin' Up The Backstairs' is. Lets just say I was dancing around and clapping my hands. It's similar to The Monks 'Black Monk Time', but instead of a rant against the Vietnam War, it's just a big party. It sounds like The Libertines at their most joyous (That seems like a long time ago). It's got the cheeky, frenetic lyrics of Alex Turner while not trying to ape the Arctic Monkeys' sound.

'Stacie Anne' starts off sounding like a football chant. The backing chants of "Oooh-Ahhh-Oooh" are great. 'The Gutterati?' has all the excitement of 'White Riot', which means it's pretty damn exciting. It ends with howls of laughter, rounds of applause and someone saying "I hate your fuckin' lyrics!".

Cigarello (Demo)
Creepin' Up The Backstairs (Acoustic)
Got Ma Nuts From A Hippy (Demo)

The Fratellis Website / The Fratellis MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

