THE BOY LEAST LIKELY TO – Be Gentle With Me (Re-Issue CD Single)

Be Gentle With Me CoverToo Young To Die TYTD006CD: 24th April 2006
1. Be Gentle With Me
"I'm happy because I'm stupid, scared of spiders, scared of flyin', if I wasn't so happy, I wouldn't be so scared of dying"
2. When I Grow Up I Want To Be A Boy Again
"The smell of sun-tan cream, reminds me, of you smiling, sadly back at me"
3. Between Hello & Goodbye
"Beaches and parks, the shade of a tree, hard days and hard nights"

I think this is the second or maybe even the third release of 'Be Gentle With Me'.  I've got a thing about lazy bands constantly re-releasing failed singles.  But these guys have pulled out the stops for some quality B-Sides so I might forgive them.  'Be Gentle With Me' should always have been an all conquering "No.1 for 8 weeks" type of single, but clearly the chart buying public are mental.  Pop doesn't get much more perfect than this, Xylophone, Banjos and a superbly strange solo that sounds like it was recorded by Scuba Divers.

"When I Grow Up I Want To Be A Boy Again" is like the more mentally stable cousin of "Life Becoming A Landslide" by Manic Street Preachers.  It doesn't have the joyous Pop-Folk sound of the radio-friendly A-side but it's still almost as strong. It's full of intoxicating nostalgia for an innocent and long gone childhood.  'Between Hello & Goodbye' is quietly beautiful but can't match up to the majesty of the first two tracks.  But it gives it a good go, with a lovely Xylophone solo.

Click here to play 3 'Boy Least Likely To' games

The Boy Least Likely To Website
The Boy Least Likely To MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

