JIM NOIR – My Patch (Re-Issue CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

My Patch CoverMy Dad Recordings MY013CD / MY013 / MY013X: 1st May 2006
1. My Patch (Album, Radio & Hot Chip Mixes)
"If you ever step on my patch, I'll bring you down, I'll bring you down"
2. My Patch (M. Craft Remix)
"You stepped upon my toes, many times before, and when I was low, you slammed my face in the door"
3. Going On Holiday
"I'm gonna get a boat to Norway, and then have a really good day"

I saw Jim and his band at the London Spitz in the February and thought it was "The second best gig I've been to" (The White Stripes at the Brixton Academy 2003 will take some beating). I closed my eyes and was lost in the perfect vocal harmonies produced by him and his band. Backed by a full group he transcended and improved upon the quirky sound-effect driven weirdness of his recorded sound. Shawn of these distractions, it sounded like a 'Rubber Soul' era Beat group and revealed just how good his songs are. The highlight of that fantastic night was the whole crowd singing along to 'My Patch' at the end. It seemed that it was the best response they'd had so far. They kept looking at each other as if to say, "How good is this!". On what seemed like the 20th glorious Accapella sing-along of the chorus, one of the band surprised himself by shouting "Don't you step on my motherfuckin' patch" in a high-pitched James Brown kind of way to howls of laughter from the audience.

'My Patch' is a song of such musical genius that you might not initially notice that it's only got one line. Unless you've been living in the soundless vacuum of space… you love it already. What you might not have heard are the two new Remixes that accompany this release. First up is the savage Glam-Rock 'M.Craft' version. It's got some new lyrics and it's so good it deserves it's own release. If you like it I'd also check out San Diego filth merchants 'Louis XIV'. 'Hot Chip' are finally getting the attention they deserve and they've delivered one of their best Remixes here. They've turned it into a House tune and then fed it through a shredder and stuck the bits back together in a different order. I love the moments where it all stops and you hear a running tap or Pinball machine. I'd read rumours on his forum that he had a song called 'Going On Holiday'. It seems they we're true, and it's the best thing since Sir Cliff turned his hand to the subject. You'll be physically incapable of resisting the urge to clap and whistle along.

Untitled Instrumental mp3 (Rare Non-LP track)

Go to his site to watch the 'My Patch' video (Witness a man fight a chicken!)

Jim Noir Website / Jim Noir MySpace Page
Hot Chip Website / Hot Chip MySpace Page
M. Craft MySpace Page
Louis XIV Website / Louis XIV MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

