BLUE SKIES UP: Welcome To The New Pop Revolution (CD Compilation)

Blue Skies Up CoverDogbox Records BOX8: 15th May 2006
1. Swimmer One – We Just Make Music For Ourselves
2. Luxembourg – Not My Number
3. Planetakis – Beautiful Today
4. The Boyfriends – Remember
5. Jonny Cola – Suburban Voyager
6. The Sweethearts – Pop Machine!
7. The Schla La Las – Gotta Go
8. The Lodger – Not So Fast
9. Bib – Jobs-On-Line '06
10. Robots In Disguise – Bed Scenes
11. The Laurel Collective – International Love Affair
12. The Bridge Gang – Sarah's Brother
13. The Bleeding Hearts – Stars
14. Nakeru – Long Walks On The Beach
15. Piranha Deathray – When Can I Meet Your Parents?
16. Morton Valence – The Kiss

This is for fans of Angular's two era defining compilations. In fact Luxembourg and The Boyfriends both appeared on those two CDs. Dogbox is shaping up to be a consistently fantastic Label, not just the home of Luxembourg (One of the finest bands in Britain to not have a major record deal). It also contains great songs by other new artists that are starting to get some attention, like 'Swimmer One', The Lodger' and 'Bib'.

Luxembourg contribute an exclusive track called 'Not My Number', which is one of their best. The brilliant Lodger have just come onto my radar and 'Not So Fast' is their most fun song yet. It's great to hear Bib's classic single 'Jobs-On-Line' given a new glossy production. The Bridge Gang's song tells the angry story of a boy killed by The National Front. The line "Don't go outside if your blades are blunt" seems very current. Nakeru's 'Long Walks On The Beach' is a word-for-word lonely-hearts advert set to Elbow like music.

This compilation hangs together very well as a cohesive statement. You can tell the care that went into this CD by the way it opens with the line "We Just Make Music For Ourselves, yeah" and closes with "Goodnight, goodnight". The songs seem to have an indefinable bond that unites them. Think Pet Shop Boys, Kate Bush, Pulp, The Smiths, Britpop or Prince, in short, everything that's right about Pop music. "The New Pop Revolution" may be wishful thinking, but in a universe that made any sense it would be a wish that came true.

Visit Dogbox's site for links to these artists' own websites.

Click here to buy it with PayPal for only £8.99

DogBox Records Website / The New Pop Revolution MySpace Page

One Comment to “BLUE SKIES UP: Welcome To The New Pop Revolution (CD Compilation)”

  1. Personally, I thought this music was the best. My forum has been packed with new age comments. Sort of cool!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: