COLDCUT (FEAT. ROBERT OWENS) – Walk A Mile In My Shoes: Henrik Schwarz Remixes (12″ Promo)

Walk A Mile In My Shoes Promo CoverNinja Tune ZEN12179H: 5th June 2006
1. Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Henrik Schwarz Remix)
"Before you abuse, criticise and accuse, then walk a mile in my shoes"
2. Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Henrik Schwarz Remix Radio Edit)
"There are people on reservations, and out in the ghettos, and brother there, for the grace of God, go you and I"
3. Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Henrik Schwarz Dub)
(Instrumental)

Ahead of a full release of 'Walk A Mile In My Shoes', Coldcut have released a promo showcasing 'Henrik Schwarz's incredible 9.23 Remix. It's a cover of a song by an early seventies folk singer called Joe South, who I'd never heard of (I'll have to investigate his work). The full release will also have Remixes by Tiga, Tom Belton and Timo Garcia.

Henrik Schwarz's Remix has the Electro-Jazz feel of Vangelis' score for 'Blade Runner'. It doesn't seem to radically depart from the original version, it simply enhances it and gives it space to breathe. Like when the anticipation created by the extended intro, embues the strings at 3.59 with a drama that they didn't seem to have on the original. Then the drums come in at 4.32 like a deafening heart beat. It all ends with aggressive Synths duelling with the string section for your attention. Add to that Robert Owens' wonderful Gospel vocals drifting over the top. Henrik Schwarz has seen into the soul of this track and created an unforgettable Remix.

The five minute 'Radio Edit' is good but it kind of defeats the point. Also the instrumental Dub version loses something when stripped of Robert Owens' vocals. I'd probably wait for the full release to get this essential remix.

Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Henrik Schwarz Dub) mp3
Walk A Mile In My Shoes (Tiga Remix Edit) mp3
Mr Nichols mp3

Coldcut Website / Coldcut MySpace Page
Ninja Tune Website

One Comment to “COLDCUT (FEAT. ROBERT OWENS) – Walk A Mile In My Shoes: Henrik Schwarz Remixes (12″ Promo)”

  1. proc ne:)

Leave a Reply

