Archive for June 13th, 2006

June 13, 2006

LILY ALLEN – Alright, Still (Promo CD Album)

Still Alright Promo CoverRegal ALRIGHT01: June 2006
1. Smile
"When you first left me, I was wantin' more, but you were fuckin' that girl next door
2. Knock 'Em Out
"Go away now, let me go, are you stupid, or just a little slow?"
3. LDN
"If you look with your eyes, everything seems nice, but if you look twice, you can see it's all lies"
4. Everything's Just Wonderful
"All the magazines, they talk about weight loss, if I buy those jeans, I can look like Kate Moss"
5. Not Big
"Let’s turn back time, to when you couldn't get it up"
6. Friday Night
"It's quarter to, and we get to the front, girl on the guest list, dressed like a…"
7. Shame For You
"Oh my gosh, you must be jokin' me, if you think that you'll be pokin' me"
8. Littlest Things
"Sometimes I wish we could just pretend, even if only for one weekend"
9. Take What You Take
"What the fuck do you know? Just 'cause you're old, you think you're wise"
10. Friend Of Mine
"I don't want us to have another fight, but in the background I can here you chattin' shite"
11. Alfie
"Oh, oh deary me, my little brother's in his bedroom smoking weed"

I resisted the temptation for a couple of days after seeing this Promo on Ebay. But I gave in and forked out £25… it was worth every penny. When you discover an exciting new artist, your hopes and dreams of what the artist is capable of, often don't pan out. Maybe the song you loved was a one off, maybe they sell out or maybe their album just stinks. Not in this case, 'Alright, Still' represents everything I hoped Lily Allen would be.

The dominant sound is Reggae, Ska and Pop with a touch of Jazz. The lyrics to 'LDN' which was her first 7" capture the spirit of the whole album. With their description of a beautiful sunny day that disguises robberies, pimps and crack whores. It's also an album about Lily's "Fuck You" attitude, with lines like "If you're gonna play with fire, you're gonna get burned" and "Don't take me on, no". But it also shows her vulnerable side, and none more so than on the delicate Kinks like 'Littlest Things'. She also casts a mocking glance at the club scene, on the Specials influenced 'Friday Night' (My new favourite Lily track). On 'Take What You Take', Lily sneers at all that familiar advice like "All that glitters is not gold" with the swagger of a female Liam Gallagher. These are party tunes, tunes to make you laugh, tunes to make you cry, tunes to make you think and most of all tunes to dance to. I'd suggest the Madness dance for 'Friday Night' and the Peter Kay march for 'Alfie'. Go on try it, you know it makes sense. Your life will be better when you own a copy of this album, I guarantee it!

One more reason you might want to pick up a copy of this promo is because I think it's got a more tasteful cover than the proper version (Maybe I'll get used to it). Of the mp3s available on the net, only 'Cheryl Tweedy', 'Nan You're A Window Shopper', 'Oh My God', 'Sunday Morning' and 'Truth' aren't present. Hopefully they'll be B-sides (I've added links to demos of these tracks to keep you going till then).

Click here to search for a copy of this promo on Ebay.

Here are some links to pre-order her album from Amazon and HMV.

Click here to read a review from MusicLikeDirt (With more links).

Also here are two links to watch the videos for 'Smile' and 'LDN' on YouTube.

Sunday Morning (Demo) mp3
Truth (Demo) mp3
Cheryl Tweedy (Demo) mp3
Nan You're A Window Shopper (Demo) mp3
Oh My God (Demo) mp3
My First Mixtape (50 min Lily Mix) mp3
My Second Mixtape (60 min Lily Mix) mp3

Lily Allen MySpace Page / Lily Allen Website