WHITEY – Wrap It Up (CD Single)

Wrap It Up CoverMarquis Cha Cha CHACHA010CD: 14th April 2006
1. Wrap It Up
"You may well say, how could this happen to you, you may well ask, but you may not like the truth"
2. I Made Myself Invisible
"Walkin' around, opening their mouths, putting things in, letting things come out"

I seem to remember my brother raving about this single when it came out.  For some reason I didn't get myself a copy when it was released.  Well, I've got one now and he was right, it's fantastic, so if you can still buy it, I suggest you do.

'Wrap It Up' has an absolutely pummelling Drum sound, dissonant electronic noises, pulsating Bass and shouts of "Get Even!".  It's like Beck guesting on a track by LCD Soundsystem (Yep, it's that good).  'I Made Myself Invisible' is the sound of paranoia, with a Bass line borrowed from Dr Who.  It's like Beck making a track with Eels (Once again, it really is that good).

Click here to watch the video for 'Non Stop' on YouTube.

Whitey MySpace Page
Marquis Cha Cha Website / Marquis Cha Cha MySpace Page

4 Comments to “WHITEY – Wrap It Up (CD Single)”

  1. Raving!! I believe I raved, played it repeatedly, whooped with joy, danced, and generally demanded that you bow down and worship at the turntable on which it spun (oh ok it was itunes)
    afterwards I believe you made a noise that closely resembled… meh
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=meh&f=1

    You want to listen to your old brother some times… wanders off into distance muttering under breath..

    Glad you “geting it” now… its amazing… and how it wasnt a hit i’ll never know. This is what Franz Ferdinand would sound like if they were as good as they think they are.

  2. I thought my post might get that reaction. Didn’t you play ‘Wrap It Up’ down the phone to me once? Here are the excuses.

    I don’t think Piccadilly stocked it when it was released. And if Piccadilly don’t stock something I don’t tend to buy it. It’s usually too much bother to search Pure Groove, Sister Ray, Rough Trade etc as well as searching Piccadilly’s 100-200 new records each week.

    Also, I think I might have got Whitey and Snow White mixed up. I bought a Snow White record once, not a mistake I wanted to repeat.

  3. yeah yeah yeah 😉

    I bought my copies at piccadilly…

    Totally on point with your comments about Guillemots cover of Streets. Such a shame as the first minute is genius

  4. Great work – thank you for the info! I’ve just managed to find a CD copy (at a reasonable price!) and bought it. This should have been a massive hit!

Leave a Reply

