THE FRATELLIS – Henrietta (CD & 8″ Singles)

Henrietta CoverIsland CID938 / 8IS938: 12th June 2006
1. Henrietta
"Buy us some shoes, and maybe take us for Cola, we’ll get you there in some, filthy big Gondola"
2. Cigarello
"Won't you stay home and get drunk quick, I can wear your dress and your lipstick"
3. Three Skinny Girls
"Three skinny girls, left me on Sunday, just me in my lonely room, left me some sweet Macaroons"

'Henrietta' is loads of fun, particularly the triumphant Brass section. I also love the bit where they stop and go "Wah-wah-wow" like Fozzy Bear. But it doesn't quite match up to their first single, 'Creepin' Up The Backstairs'. But never mind because they've backed it with two absolutely killer B-sides…

From the hand-clap intro to 'Cigarello' I can only imagine how good it must be live. It's got thumping drums and all the crowd-pleasing thrills of a lost Sham 69 track. It also ends with a shout of "Fuck me, I canay believe it!", applause and howls of laughter. 'Three Skinny Girls' takes off where 'Cigarello' ended, with a toff exclaiming "I'm suitably fucked and ready to go". It's the shambolic sound of The Kinks after they've drunk the House Of Commons dry.

These are irresistible, straight up, head-banging, party tunes and yes, you read it right, 8" vinyl! (It won't fit in your 7" racks, but I'd buy it anyway).

Click here to watch the video for 'Creepin' Up The Backstairs' on YouTube.

The Fratellis Website / The Fratellis MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

