LILY ALLEN – Smile (2x CD Singles)

Smile CoverRegal REG135 / REGS135: 3rd July 2006
1. Smile
“Now you’re calling me up on the phone, so you can have a little whine and a moan, and it’s only because you’re feeling alone”
2. Smile (Gutter Mix)
“I was so lost back then, but with a little help from my friends, I found a light in the tunnel at the end”
3. Cheryl Tweedy
“Oh, I wish I didn’t smoke so, many Cigarettes, another program on antiques, on the TV set, wish I had blonde hair, wish I had green eyes, so many things about myself, that I despise”
4. Absolutely Nothing
“Keep thinkin’ I’m not letting on, I feel this sad, and then you’ve got the cheek to ask me how I feel, and I say, absolutely nothing, I’m absolutely fine, absolutely nothing you can say to change my mind”

I’ve commented before that Lily has stronger tracks than ‘Smile’ and like I said in my review of the Promo back in May “I’m sure the least of Lily’s tracks are destined for chart glory”. I was right, because she’s just had a second week at the number one spot. So god knows what her future singles are gonna do (Personally I’d pick ‘Friday Night’ as the next release, it’s a masterpiece).

So this is her first proper/official/buy-it-in-the-shops type release and it’s backed by a Grimey Remix by Aaron LaCrate aka Gutter Music. It’s not my cup of tea but at least it doesn’t have the sound of gunshots all over it. But the bit where it builds up to absolute bursting point at 2.12 is fantastic.

‘Smile’ is also backed by two non-LP tracks. Musically ‘Cheryl Tweedy’ reminds me of the Stereo MCs and lyrically it’s a cousin of ‘Everything’s Just Wonderful’ (Which is probably why it isn’t on the album). Lily spends the song beating herself up by comparing her self to Girls Aloud singer Cheryl Tweedy. Lily’s obviously of the opinion that rather than see an expensive shrink you can release your thoughts on CD and make a mint. ‘Absolutely Nothing’ is totally new, it wasn’t even on either of the Mixtapes. It’s has more of a Rock sound than her other songs and it’s unusually downbeat. If you listen to ‘Smile’ right after ‘Absolutely Nothing’ the two songs link up, the depression and then the revenge!

Also be sure to buy this weeks NME to read the torrent of abusive letters Lily is sure to get because they gave her the cover last week. They should have given her the cover ages ago!

Click here to purchase a U-Myx copy of ‘Smile’, which allows you make your own Remix. Also download the ‘Smile (Chill Pill Instrumental)’ by yours truly as an mp3 or as a U-Myx file. Or click here to download other peoples Remixes (Which aren’t as good!).

Click here to read Cheryl Tweedy’s Wikipedia entry (It also has articles about other stuff like Einstein and shit…).

The album is out today, click here to buy it from HMV for only £8.99.

Lily Allen Website / Lily Allen MySpace Page
Aaron LaCrate Website / Aaron LaCrate MySpace Page

2 Comments to “LILY ALLEN – Smile (2x CD Singles)”

  1. I’m addicted to Lily Allen music! I love her music, my favourite song is Little Things!!Have u listened to her song, Littlest Things! It’s really very good, isn’t it?

  2. Re: Erkin. yer, that track has been rocking my world for the last few months. ‘Smile’ is the tip of the iceberg in terms of quality. The word are poetry, and bloody funny too.

    Ryan.

Leave a Reply

