GRAHAM COXON – I Can’t Look At Your Skin / What’s He Got? (2x 7″ EP)

I Can't Look At Your Skin, What's He GotParlophone R6702: 17th July 2006
1. I Can’t Look At Your Skin
“Better start making changes, before they put you away, shooting looks down every street, feral kid with no beliefs”
2. Time For Heroes
“Oh it’s eating, it’s chewing me up, it’s not right for young lungs to be coughing up blood, and it’s all, it’s all in my hands, and it’s all up the walls”
3. What’s He Got?
“Saw you on the corner by the cash machine, you made the cutest couple that I ever did see”
4. Outta My League, Dear
“Will you burst my bubble, will you burn me down, will knock me out, will you bring me round, would you kiss me back from the brink of death, would you sacrifice one good clean breath”

This is a nice double 7″ package with two A-sides and two B-sides.  There seems to have been a screw up at the record plant because the A-sides appear on the first 7″ and the B-sides on the second, despite what the labels say.  ‘I Can’t Look At Your Skin’ brings to mind great Pop-Punk bands like The Ramones and The Undertones.  You’ll be banging your head along to the endless shouts of “I can’t look at your skin, ‘Cos it’s doing me in” at the end.  The other A-side ‘What’s He Got?’ harks back to the American Rock ‘n’ Roll of the late 50’s and early 60’s.  Despite a great Harmonica solo it’s the lesser of the two A-sides.

Graham’s cover of The Libertines ‘Time For Heroes’ isn’t as good as the original but it did succeed in reminding of how good they used to be.  His voice is much clearer than Pete Doherty’s which highlights what a great lyricist he was.  Lines like “I passed myself down on my knees, tell me what can you want, when you’ve got it all, the whole scene is obscene, time will strip it away” show his uncanny ability to diagnose his problems, but sadly not to treat them.  With it’s handclaps ‘Outta My League, Dear’ is reminiscent of the early Pop sound of The Rolling Stones.  It’s easily the best of the four tracks.

Click here to watch Jamie Theakston interview Blur for Rock Profile “It’s not my fault, nobody showed me how to work the machines!”.

Graham Coxon Website / Graham Coxon MySpace Page
All Over Me Fansite

Leave a Reply

