THE HOLLOWAYS – Two Left Feet (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

Two Left Feet CoverTVT Records HOLLOCD1 / HOLLO1 / HOLLO1X: 31st July 2006
1. Two Left Feet
“I can’t really dance, but baby won’t you dance with me, and if you wanna take a chance, then baby take a chance on me”
2. London Town
“I caught the bus and I went to town, it went so slow so I soon jumped off it, it soon sped off and passed me by though”
3. Sound Of The Sunshine
“Any time, any place, you know that every fucker recognises your face”
4. Aspirin
“An able bodied boy with an able mind, he falls for the wrong sort, proving love is blind”
5. Hallelujah I Love Her So
“In the mornin’ when the sun comes up, she brings me coffee in my favourite cup, that’s how I know, yes I know, hallelujah I just love her so”

‘Two Left Feet’ opens with a cheeky reference to The Smiths’ song ‘This Charming Man’ with the line “Hello, I found a stitch to wear, and came out tonight”.  It’s got the most frenetic and insistent use of a Fiddle since ‘Cotton Eye Joe’.  The Holloways might be bad dancers but they can sure write a fine tune.  It was originally the B-side to their first single but they’ve re-recorded it in spectacular fashion with the help of Clive Langer (Morrissey, Elvis Costello, Madness etc).

A solitary B-side has backed previous singles, but this release has four.  ‘London Town’ is the joyous sound of The Strokes after too much Jelly and Ice Cream.  ‘Sound Of The Sunshine’ is okay but doesn’t match the standard of the other tracks.  ‘Aspirin’ has the kind of insightful social commentary not heard since The Specials.  ‘Hallelujah I Love Her So’ is a cover of a Ray Charles song.  It’s the sound of a band having a ball, recording a song they clearly love.  Check out the charming Kazoo and Piano solos at the end, which are followed by giggles of laughter.

The Holloways are shaping up to be a great band, if quality song writing, witty lyrics and ambition are anything to go by.  It takes ambition to write both a footie song and a new UK national anthem (See below).

You can buy exclusive extra tracks (Acoustic version and Statik Remix) from 7Digital.  If you do, you’ll get a free track called ‘We Invented The Game (It’s My Ball, I’m Going Home)’.

I’ve included links to download future hit single and alternative anthem in waiting ‘Great Britain’, which features the great line “Yeah, this is Great Britain and these are our whores, David and Victoria, there’s hope for us all”.

Great Britain mp3
I Should Say Something mp3

Click here to watch the video for ‘Two Left Feet’ on YouTube.

The Holloways Website / The Holloways MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

