THE RACONTEURS – Hands (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

Hands CoverXL Recordings XLS236CDST / XLS236AST / XLS236BST: 31st July 2006
1. Hands
“Girl, you got those eyes, that see, help me find the good that’s inside me, ‘Cause you’re the only one, who really knows, how the feeling comes and why it goes”
2. Intimate Secretary (Live)
“I’ve got a rabbit, it likes to hop, I’ve got a girl and she likes to shop, the other foot looks like it won’t drop, I had an uncle but he got shot”
3. Store Bought Bones (The Zane Rendition)
“Sitting at the edge of the sea, wishing you were here by me, sifting through the mud and the bricks, looking for a store bought fix”
4. Hands (Live)
“When you’re with me there’s a light and I can see my way, when you speak to me it’s a song and I know what to say”
5. It Ain’t Easy (Live)
“When you climb to the top of the mountain, look out over the sea, think about the place, perhaps, where a young man can be”

I thought that The Raconteurs’ last single ‘Steady, As She Goes’ must have been a Jack White song, and I’m just as sure that ‘Hands’ is by Brendan Benson. It’s got all those wonderful Pop sensibilities that have made his Solo singles so special. It seems sweet at first, but by god this song fuckin’ rocks. Most of this aggression is supplied by Pete Townshend like crashing Guitars. It stood out on the album as an obvious choice to be the next single.

When I saw the tracklisting of this release I was less than thrilled, four live tracks aren’t my idea of value for money. But I’m a collector of all things Jack White, so I bought it anyway and I’m glad I did. It’s true that the live version of ‘Hands’ is far from essential but the live version of ‘Intimate Secretary’ is quite different to the album recording. The Psychedelic Rock sound of the original is replaced by a semi-acoustic, Beatles like sweetness, which is given a bitter edge by a trademark Jack White squealing Guitar solo.

The other two B-sides are well worth having. ‘Store Bought Bones (The Zane Rendition)’ combines the music of the sizzling instrumental ‘The Bane Rendition’ with the words of ‘Store Bought Bones’ (‘Zane’ is because it was recorded for Zane Lowe’s show). Creating a mash-up of two of your own songs is an unorthodox move, but a brilliant one. ‘It Ain’t Easy’ is a cover of a song by Ron Davies, which was made famous by David Bowie. It feels much more earthy than Bowie’s version but is let down by an odd hissing sound in the background (Unlike most radio sessions, it was broadcast and recorded live, which may explain the screw up).

Crazy (Live Gnarls Barkley Cover) mp3

Here are links to the videos for ‘Steady, As She Goes (Cow Version)’, ‘Steady, As She Goes (Soap-Box Version)’ and ‘Hands’ on YouTube.

The Raconteurs Website / The Raconteurs MySpace Page
Store Bought Bones Fansite

One Trackback to “THE RACONTEURS – Hands (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)”

Leave a Reply

