THE HOLLOWAYS – Generator (Re-Issue CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

TVT Records HOLLOCD2 / HOLLO2 / HOLLO2X: 16th October 2006
1. Generator
“When I was a young boy I got a stereo and I taped all the songs straight off the radio, the sounds that the bands made, and the melodies is all I need to make me feel free”
2. Kings Cross Cutie
“You’ve infected me, with your disease, now I can’t break free, your eyes imprison me”
3. I Should Say Something
“And would she have said yes, when wearing her white dress, if violence was included in his vows, I’m sure that she hates it, but she tolerates it, she’s married to him now”
4. All I Have To Do Is Dream
“I can make you mine, taste your lips of wine, any time, night or day, only trouble is, gee whiz, I’m dreaming my life away”
5. Pushing & Shoving
“I’m not tellin’ you how to lead your life, just respect one another, like sister and brother, I’m just tellin’ you what I see, but I’ll stop complaining, move to the country”

‘Generator’ came in at number 18 in my ‘Top 100 Tracks Of 2005’ and I said that it “Makes me feel 100% happier every time”. That’s still true and if you missed it last year this is your chance to get one of the most infectious, irresistible and life affirming songs of the past few years. ‘Generator’ is about the power of music to take you somewhere, to brighten your day and make you forget your troubles. The words about taping songs from the radio reminded me of times spent lunging for the stop-button on my tape deck before the DJ started talking. Somewhere in the loft is cassette I fondly remember recording at my auntie’s one summer with ‘Rocket Man’ by Elton John among other songs.

The Holloways last single was packed with fantastic B-sides and the four included here don’t disappoint either. ‘Kings Cross Cutie’ is a great little Brit Pop tune that you can hum. ‘I Should Say Something’ is about how easily we can all turn a blind eye to things like violence, antisocial behaviour and famine. ‘All I Have To Do Is Dream’ is a cover of a song written by the great Boudeleaux Bryant and made famous by The Everly Brothers. The Holloways’ version isn’t as dream like as the original but the bouncy Pop sound is perhaps a better fit for the subtly comic lyrics. Pushing & Shoving’ is like Dirty Pretty Things… but good and the lyrics are asking us all to have a little more consideration for our fellow man (Fat chance!).

Click here to buy the single and it’s B-sides from 7Digital.

Click here to pre-order The Holloways’ debut album ‘So This Is Great Britain?’ from HMV for only £8.99.

The Holloways Website / The Holloways MySpace Page

Leave a Reply

