OMERTA – One More Minute (CD Single)

Northern Ambition NAM011CD: 30th October 2006
1. One More Minute
“Honestly, it really is a crying shame, that I bend my will to suit your ways, trust in me, now I’m getting old I know, that I’ll never find my way back home”
2. Follow Me Down
“The cycle must be broken, don’t want to end up like your old man, in silence with words left unspoken”
3. Isolated
“And now you’re isolated and I see you falling, growing old and breaking down, and now you’re isolated and I hear you calling, but there’s no one to save you now”

I’ve been a fan of Omerta since their first release, ‘Everyone Is Frozen / Learn To Love The System’. ‘One More Minute’ is Omerta’s third single after last October’s ‘One Chance’. I’ve just found out that “Omerta” is the Mafia code of silence, so hopefully I won’t find the severed head of some unfortunate quadruped in my bed for telling you about this release.

I can’t help feeling (Despite there being no obvious reference to it) that the lyric to ‘One More Minute’ is about Bush and Blair. It could be the militaristic cover artwork or it could be that I’ve spent the last week immersed in ‘Over There’ (A harrowing thirteen part drama set in the Iraq war that I just got on DVD). If you’re a fan of Editors then you’ll love Aaron Starkie’s deep voice, but he can also slip into a searing Falsetto. ‘Follow Me Down’ is a menacing mix of twitching Guitars and sharp Strings. ‘Isolated’ is the best of the three songs. The vocals are richly emotional and the music shimmers, pulsates and explodes.

Click here to watch the video for ‘One More Minute’ on YouTube.

Here are links to download four songs that you might have missed from the first two sold-out releases:

Everyone Is Frozen mp3
Learn To Love The System mp3 (One of 2005’s best tracks)
One Chance mp3
Synchronise Your Smiles mp3

Omerta Website / Omerta MySpace Page / Northern Ambition MySpace Page

5 Comments to “OMERTA – One More Minute (CD Single)”

  1. I like a bit of harrowing drama… tell me more about this “Over There”?

  2. You’ve got a double dose of Omerta on your blog by the way

  3. “You’ve got a double dose of Omerta on your blog by the way” ?????

    ‘Over There’ totally changes your perspective on the Iraq war. Before I felt sorry for the troops stuck there, but now I feel I’ve got a real empathy for them. I watch news footage now and it doesn’t seem a distant thing, it seems so much more real. You’ve gotta see it.

    It follows a squad of troops fresh on the ground and also follows the effects it’s having on their families. They’re all fully rounded and quite damaged characters.

    Sadly they’ve not been given a second series due to falling ratings. But the fact that it shows the Iraq war as a catastrophic hell-hole can’t have helped either.

    Ryan.

  4. Ah I see now, there’s two copies of the Omerta Review up. Stupid word press editing thing!!

    Ryan.

  5. Think i’ll have to add that to my lovefilm rental list. ta

Leave a Reply

