DUKE SPECIAL – Freewheel (Re-Issue CD Single)

V2 VVR5044373: 5th February 2007
1. Freewheel
“Save me from the movies and someone else’s dreams, while angels make their music and give my spirit wings”
2. Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes (Feat. Neil Hannon)
“The thirst that from the soul doth rise, doth crave a drink divine, but might I of Jove’s nectar sup, I would not change for thine”
3. I Think I Am Losing You
“Tattoo my heart, take the needle to the skin, plunge it in the deepest part, and just stay there where the ink goes in”

To my ears, ‘Freewheel’ isn’t as good as Duke Special’s last two singles but it’s picking up radio play everywhere.  However, such a great songwriter does deserve the exposure and he more than makes up for it with the B-sides.  First up is a beautiful performance of Ben Jonson’s (A contemporary of Shakespeare) poem ‘Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes’ with Duke arranging the music and Neil Hannon providing guest vocals.  ‘I Think I Am Losing You’ is a gently rolling tune that had me humming along within a few seconds.  It’s got warm Double-Bass and a few Pet Sounds production touches.

Click here to download a 5-track Duke Special EP for free!

Click here to watch the new video for ‘Freewheel’ on YouTube.

Duke Special Website / Duke Special MySpace

One Comment to “DUKE SPECIAL – Freewheel (Re-Issue CD Single)”

  1. Duke Special is grrrreat. The songs on the free EP are really good.

Leave a Reply

