THE POLYPHONIC SPREE – Wait (CD EP)

Good Records GRR010: 26th February 2007
1. Mental Cabaret
“This mental cabaret is dancing with my fate, oh, this sexy impression’s left me engaged with a game”
2. Love My Way
“There’s emptiness behind their eyes, there’s dust in all their hearts”
3. Sonic Bloom
“A sonic bloom, a total emotionless excuse, I can’t believe it happened to me, the magic’s in my heart, believe me”
4. Lithium
“I’m so happy, cos today I found my friends, they’re in my head”
5. I’m Calling
“It makes me so cold, today my heart is like an empty room”

This new EP is a taster for The Polyphonic Spree’s forthcoming album ‘The Fragile Army’ and their first release since 2004’s ‘Together We’re Heavy’ LP (A personal favourite and a hard act to follow).  ‘Mental Cabaret’ and ‘I’m Calling’ have the usual massive life-affirming chorus’ of “I’m on my way” and “If I can make it, I’ll make you proud”, respectively.  The music is nothing new but that doesn’t bother me when it’s this lushly orchestrated.

The middle three tracks are covers exclusive to this release.  ‘Love My Way’ is a Psychedelic Furs song, ‘Lithium’ is of course by Nirvana and ‘Sonic Bloom’ is a song by Tim DeLaughter’s old group, Tripping Daisy.  ‘Sonic Bloom’ is wonderful but the real pleasure is hearing the other two very familiar tracks given The Polyphonic Spree treatment.

I confess that I’ve got a rather nerdy habit of carefully reading every word of a record’s liner notes.  So I discovered that the small print of this EP says if you illegally copy it you’ll be subject to “Criminal prostitution”… so you’ve been warned!

The Polyphonic Spree Website / The Polyphonic Spree MySpace

One Comment to “THE POLYPHONIC SPREE – Wait (CD EP)”

Leave a Reply

