GET CAPE. WEAR CAPE. FLY – I Spy (Re-Issue CD & 7″ Singles)

Atlantic ATUK056CD / ATUK056X: 26th February 2007
1. I Spy (Radio Mix / Metronomy Mix)
“I don’t care, that this song has a melody, or that the beats are not complex, I’m just trying to make you sing and not be perplexed”
2. War Of The Worlds (Napster Acoustic)
“You know I could be, everything you want me to be, no we haven’t spoke in days, yeah in fact it’s been a matter of weeks”

Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly’s great single ‘I Spy’ gets a third release (Or fourth, if you count the album) here in a barely altered ‘Radio Mix’. Fortunately it comes with a couple of new tracks to make it worth buying. First there is a stripped back acoustic version of last single ‘War Of The Worlds’. It’s got a pain to Sam’s voice and a beauty to the music that the album version doesn’t have and the gorgeous new Cornet solo is wonderful. The ‘Metronomy Mix’ is an odd one, it goes beyond retro-80s-sheak into simply dated. At points, it sounds like a drunken attempt to play the theme from Rocky on a cheap synthesiser. That said, there is something strangely fascinating about it which makes me keep wanting to listen again and again… weird.

Click here to download a Zip I made of Sam’s recent Live Lounge session. It includes a radical re-working of Gossip’s ‘Standing In The Way Of Control’.

Click here to buy the Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly album, which is still at an amazing £6.99 from HMV.

Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly Website / Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly MySpace
Glass Houses Fan Site

3 Comments to “GET CAPE. WEAR CAPE. FLY – I Spy (Re-Issue CD & 7″ Singles)”

  1. You don’t think you could upload “Standing In The Way Of Control” on its own, could you? I really, really want to hear this. I’d be forever in your debt?

  2. Re Frankie. No problem, check your inbox.

    Ryan.

  3. I really am trying so hard to find his cover of standing in the way of control, any chance you have it and could possibly send it to me please?

    Thanks and regards

    Oli x

Leave a Reply

