KINGS OF LEON – On Call (CD Single)

Hand Me Down HMD51: 26th March 2007
1. On Call
“And when they fall, to pieces, Lord you know, I’ll be there laughing”
2. My Third House
“How many souls will it take, how many necks will you break”

When Kings Of Leon arrived on the music scene they where branded as Southern copyists of The Strokes (Brilliant copyists at that). Yet, unlike the Strokes they’ve seemingly had no problems coming up with fantastic second and (From the sound of this single) third albums.

‘On Call’ is their first release in almost two years and from the sound of it they’ve been very busy. What’s this I hear as I press play… a Synthesiser, no it can’t be, then Joy Division Drums and then vaguely Metal Guitars as I check the CD to be sure it’s really Kings Of Leon. So, out goes the Neil Young influenced rock of the first two brilliant albums, but Caleb’s distinctive pained, slightly hysterical vocals still make this unmistakably Kings Of Leon. It’s all finished off with a sky-scarping Guitar solo that’s simply built for stadiums. ‘My Third House’ is even better, as I’d expect from a band renowned for the quality (And sadly scarcity) of their B-sides. It’s got those thrilling moments when Caleb’s vocals get so manic that you can’t understand a word he’s singing.

Click here to buy the new ‘Because Of The Times’ album from HMV for only £8.99.

Click here to watch the video for ‘On Call’ on YouTube.

Kings Of Leon – Head To Toe mp3 (Incredible B-side from the last album)

Kings Of Leon Website / Kings Of Leon MySpace

6 Responses to “KINGS OF LEON – On Call (CD Single)”

  1. hey, hey, hey! not only do you get yourself (finally!) on the hype machine, but now you’ve got a song in the top-ten popular tracks of the day! of course, i’d never say “i told you so,” oh no, not me. 😉

  2. Re mjrc. Yep that was a great tip, hits have gone through the roof! Might have to take stuff down so I don’t exeed my limit infact.

    Any other tips?

    Ryan.

  3. oh yeah, the bandwidth issue. that’s the one downside of getting more hits. i guess you could leave things up for a limited time only, i tend not to do that but i really should.

    my only other tip would be keep doing what you’re doing–you’ve got an ear for great stuff, just don’t let your newfound popularity go to yer head! 😉

  4. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

