BLOC PARTY – I Still Remember (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

Wichita WEBB125SCD / WEBB125S / WEBB125SX: 9th April 2007
1. I Still Remember (Original / Music Box & Tears Mix)
“And our love could have soared over playgrounds and rooftops, every park bench screams your name, I kept your tie, I’d have gone wherever you wanted, I still remember”
2. Selfish Son
“Typical me, typical Libra, spit the dummy, typical me, typical Libra, the grass is always green”
3. Atonement
“And we can make a raft from all the dead trees, and set sail for better times, to a time when this love was not poisoned, I was kind and I was kind”
4. Cain Said To Abel
“This self-obsessed sinner, I hear he loves to drink, this self-obsessed sinner, I hear he likes a fight”

So far, I’ve been a bit disappointed by Bloc Party’s new album (I haven’t devoted as much time to it as perhaps I should though) but ‘I Still Remember’ stood out as a classic straight away. It’s easily the most thrilling single since ‘Little Thoughts’ and shares that song’s propulsive beat. ‘Music Box & Tears Mix’ remakes the song as a lushly orchestrated, almost syrupy ballad which perfectly fits the sepia-tinged tones of the lyrics.

‘Selfish Son’, ‘Atonement’ and ‘Cain Said To Abel’ are all brilliant B-sides. In contrast to the treasured memories of ‘I Still Remember’, the B-sides all concern themes of regret and self-flagellation. With b-sides of this quality, it’s a shame they’re spread across three formats, fingers crossed for a Japanese EP.

Click here to buy ‘A Weekend In The City’ from HMV for an unbelievable £5.99!

Click here to buy the single as mp3s from Rough Trade Digital.

Bloc Party – Skeleton mp3 (B-side from ‘Helicopter’ Single)

Click here to watch the incredible video for ‘I Still Remember’ on YouTube.

Bloc Party Website / Bloc Party MySpace / Bloc Party Fansite

2 Comments to “BLOC PARTY – I Still Remember (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)”

  1. I still remember is MAJESTIC. I am also loving another b-side – England. Why did that not make the album!?

  2. Re xolondon. There are two exclusive remixes of ‘I still remember’ available from http://www.recordstore.co.uk

    However, I’ve just had a dispute with them when I pointed out that the idiots had made the remixes available in mono. They said they hadn’t, I again said they had and then they said oh yeah sorry they are in mono here’s your money back. Still haven’t got the stereo versions though.

    Ryan.

Leave a Reply

