HERMAN DUNE – I Wish That I Could See You Soon (CD & 7″ Single)

Source ETC SOURCD126/SOUR126: 16th April 2007
1. I Wish That I Could See You Soon (Original / Lisa Li-Lund Version)
“And if you wait a little my pretty friend, until I come back to hold your hand, we’ll be like bugs when they break through cocoons, you know I wish that I could see you soon”
2. I Wish I Had Someone That I Loved Well
“You said I wish that my last name was easier to spell, and I wish I had someone that I loved well”
3. Song Of Samuel
“And she said father I am still your child, but I see how mad you could be, please let me be Samuel’s bride, as he means everything to me”

‘I Wish That I Could See You Soon’ is like a glorious meeting of minds between Paul Simon and Israel Kamakawiwo’ole. I love the charming way he sings “And I was like… and she was like” before some of the lines and the way his voice wavers on the word “Spoon”. ‘I Wish That I Could See You Soon’ is a single so laid back that I can almost feel the sand between my toes and the fading evening sun on my face. Lisa Li-Lund provides the angelic backing vocals on the single and she’s also done her own version for the B-side. It’s a Lo-Fi acoustic/Drum-Machine cover that brings to mind a fragile Kirsty MacColl.

‘I Wish I Had Someone That I Loved Well’ is a beautiful poem that reminded me of Louden Wainwright III at his best. ‘Song Of Samuel’ is a love story described with such warmth, grace and skill that it’s like a chilled out Dylan. ‘I Wish That I Could See You Soon’ is taken ‘Giant’, their 5th or 6th Studio album… boy have I been missing out!

Click here to buy Herman Dune’s new ‘Giant’ album from HMV for only £9.99.

Here are links to watch delightful videos for ‘I Wish That I Could See You Soon’ and ‘I Wish That I Could See You Soon (Work In Progress)’ on YouTube.

Herman Dune Website / Herman Dune MySpace / Lisa Li-Lund MySpace

Leave a Reply

