THE CRIBS – Men’s Needs (CD & 2x 7″ Singles)

Wichita WEBB124SCD/WEBB124S/WEBB124SX: 14th May 2007
1. Men’s Needs
“Have you noticed I’ve never been impressed, by your friends from New York and London, I’ll level accusations like the press, until you realise that you’ve dressed yourself in tatters”
2. The Fairer Sex
“If I could save the world I would, but no one seems to give a fuck”
3. Tonight
“I hold your hand in mine, tonight, say that things ain’t right, tonight”
4. I’ve Tried Everything (Acoustic)
“I thought that it would not be a problem, but I found out the night we rode the Circle Line, it ‘ad to ‘appen some time”

The Cribs are one of those bands that I’ve always wanted to like more than I actually did. I love their DIY ethic, their charm, their humour, their infamous tolerance for pain and for probably the funniest appearance on Nevermind The Buzzcocks ever. However, musically I’ve always felt they were never quite good enough but I’ve always been interested in buying their latest releases for those flashes of brilliance.

‘Men’s Needs’ is the best thing they’ve done since ‘Another Number’ and Alex Kapranos is behind the production desk. It’s got a brilliant repetitive riff with Ryan Jarman yelping over the top with his distinctive slightly camp lisp. ‘The Fairer Sex’ is nearly as good with an almost Oasis like sound while ‘Tonight’ recalls Ash at their most dreamy. ‘I’ve Tried Everything’ sounds pretty damn epic in this semi-acoustic version so god knows what it’s like on the album.

Click here to buy ‘Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever’ from HMV for only £8.99 (With a free DVD for a limited time).

The Cribs – Another Number mp3
The Cribs – Mirror Kisses mp3
The Cribs – North Of England mp3

Here are links to watch that whole Buzzcocks appearance on YouTube (Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3) or just click here to witness the Live8 story.

Click here to watch the infamous video for ‘Men’s Needs’ on YouTube.

The Cribs Website / The Cribs MySpace

Leave a Reply

