HELLO SAFERIDE – I Was Definitely Made For These Times (7″ Single)

Regal REGALSC007: 14th May 2007
1. I Was Definitely Made For These Times
“Sure a woman should obey her man, sure when he can do the things I can, I was definitely made for these times, goin’ to church on Sundays, ruining my TV fun day”
2. The Quiz
“I like your record collection, Townes and Jens with a hint of Rickie Lee, and you cleaned up the bathroom, made a really nice soup, but a bit too much Sci-Fi in your shelf for DVDs”

‘I Was Definitely Made For These Times’ is the first UK release from Sweden’s Hello Saferide (aka Annika Norlin) and hasn’t appeared on any of her previous CDs.  ‘I Was Definitely Made For These Times’ has a pulsing Tom Petty beat and rich Pop production in line with the Beach Boys referencing title.  It makes me wanna dance around in the sunshine, clapping my hands in a Hare-Krishna stylee.  ‘The Quiz’ is even better and takes the form of a strict clipboard-toting test of a potential boyfriend.  It brings to mind classic 70s songwriters like Carole King or Joni Mitchell with a witty modern twist.

The single is available to buy from Rough Trade and HMV.

You can buy other Hello Saferide records from It’s A Trap, Razzia, Kurofune Records, CDON or Amazon.

Hello Saferide – Highschool Stalker mp3
Hello Saferide – If I Don’t Write This Song, Someone I Love Will Die mp3
Hello Saferide – Long Lost Penpal (Feat. Firefox AK) mp3
Hello Saferide – San Francisco mp3
Hello Saferide – The Quiz mp3
Hello Saferide – Valentine’s Day mp3

Here are links to watch videos for ‘The Quiz’, ‘Long Lost Penpal’, ‘If I Don’t Write This Song, Someone I Love Will Die’ and ‘My Best Friend’ on YouTube.

Hello Saferide Website / Hello Saferide MySpace

2 Responses to “HELLO SAFERIDE – I Was Definitely Made For These Times (7″ Single)”

  1. wow this band is a breath of fresh air. i love the use of hand-clapping as instruments in a lot of their songs. so good 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

