THE RUMBLE STRIPS – Motorcycle (2x CD Singles)

Island 1727123 / 1727128: 11th June 2007
1. Motorcycle
“But it’s all just a dream, I’m actually moving quite slowly, the air is nice and clean, but my bicycle seat is so lonely”
2. Back To Black
“I love too much, but it wasn’t enough, you love blow, and I hate that stuff”
3. My Oh My
“I’m lookin’ at my clock, it’s tickin’ on the floor, like it’s never ticked before, like it’s tickin’ inside my head, ticks are bangin’ inside my head”
4. Pennies
“You go out drinkin’, I see you laughin’, when I’m out drinkin’ all I do is cry, I’m such an unlucky guy”

While I thought that the demo of ‘Motorcycle’ (Released a year and a half ago) was outstanding I thought that my brother’s excited review was a touch over the top (Click here to read it). But after listening to the new studio version I would not only agree but I’d say that ‘Motorcycle’ is the most perfectly produced, played and written Pop single ever released by the human race (Including anything released by that scouse band). When you listen to ‘Motorcycle’ on headphones it sounds like the band are in the room with you. The Horns, the revving Guitars and of course the spine tingling falsetto bit are all shear perfection. The only way to properly describe it is perfect… it’s ‘The Godfather’ perfect, it’s Stephen Fry perfect, it’s ‘Blackadder The Third’ perfect, it’s my recipe for Tagliatelle Carbonara perfect, it’s perfect, perfect, perfect!!

The B-sides are of course inferior to the A-side, but how could they be anything else. If you managed to get a copy of the white-label, you’ve already heard the powerful Rumble Strips’ cover of Amy Winehouse’s ‘Back To Black’. ‘My Oh My’ has a supremely catchy bit involving a head-board bangin’ (You’ll have to hear it). The Spanish-Guitars on ‘Pennies’ bring to mind The Shadows and the melancholy spoken-word middle makes it one of The Rumble Strips’ best ever B-sides.

Click here to watch the legendary video for ‘Motorcycle’ on YouTube.

Here are three of The Rumble Strips’ finest B-sides:

The Rumble Strips – Girls & Weather mp3
The Rumble Strips – High Street Heaven mp3
The Rumble Strips – Sad City mp3

Click here to buy ‘Motorcycle’ from HMV.

The Rumble Strips Website / The Rumble Strips MySpace

3 Comments to “THE RUMBLE STRIPS – Motorcycle (2x CD Singles)”

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours these days, yet I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the internet shall be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

