MP3 OF THE WEEK: Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul – (I Got) So Much Trouble In My Mind mp3

“Lookie here, there is air-pollution, much confusion, drug addiction, no convictions, Vietnam war, junkies at your door… so much trouble in my mind”

I’ve had this song on a brilliant ‘Best Of Blaxploitation’ compilation for a while but it somehow got lost amongst big classics like the ‘Theme From Shaft’, ‘Across 110th Street’, and ‘Superfly’. You’ve probably heard it before, one reason being that it was included on the soundtrack to the multi-million selling ‘GTA: San Andreas’ game. ‘(I Got) So Much Trouble In My Mind’ is funkier than James Brown, more soulful than Marvin Gaye, harder hitting than Gil Scott-Heron and more psychedelic than Jimi Hendrix. This week I’ve been getting into Joe Quarterman’s self-titled 1973 album and this track kinda reached critical mass and now I can’t stop playing it.

Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul – (I Got) So Much Trouble In My Mind mp3

Click here to download a zip mix featuring the song from the indispensable ‘Funky16Corners’ blog.

The 2CD Blaxploitation compilation I’ve got seems to be out-of-print, but you can get a nice 3CD set (That includes ‘(I Got) So Much Trouble In My Mind’) from HMV for just £7.99 by clicking here.

Click here to buy the sensational ‘Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul’ album from HMV for only £9.99.

Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul AMG Entry

Leave a Reply

