JARVIS – Fat Children (12″ & 7″ Singles)

Rough Trade RTRADST397 / RTRADS397: 16th July 2007
1. Fat Children
“The police force was elsewhere, putting bullets in some guys head for no particular reason”
2. Fat Kidz (“Let Them Eat Acid” Extra-Large Mix)
3. The Loss Adjuster
“There’s no way to escape, this is it, tomorrow we will all be gone, so check what time the band are on… let’s go outside”

‘Fat Children’ is the heaviest moment on Jarvis Cocker’s faultless solo album, chronicling urban decay and casual violence with a sobering reference to the tragic shooting of Jean Charles De Menezes.  Jarvis and Pulp compadre Steve Mackey have given the track the Remix treatment on the B-side of the 12″.  It’s an almost unrecognisable Glam-Acid instrumental that’s okay, but nothing to write home about.

However, the 7″ B-side ‘The Loss Adjuster’ is anything but average (Two short excerpts of ‘The Loss Adjuster’ appeared on the album).  It’s nothing short of a masterpiece describing the odd thoughts that might go through your mind if the world was about to end “You never did see ‘Dog Day Afternoon’“.  The vocal ranges from spoken-word poetry, to a softly crooned chorus and finally Jarvis belting out the finale.  This eight-minute epic is a mix of Scott Walker atmospherics, ‘Five Years’ Bowie and Jarvis’ own distinctive storytelling style.  Only a genius like Jarvis Cocker would put something this good on the B-side of a 7″ single that’s limited to just 700 copies.

Luckily you can download ‘The Loss Adjuster’ from 7Digital by clicking here (It’s only 79p!!) but the 7″ does come with a full transcription of the lyrics.

Here are three essential JC rarities for your listening pleasure:

Jarvis – One Man Show mp3
Jarvis Cocker & Kid Loco – I Just Came To Tell You That I’m Going mp3
The Pastels (With Jarvis Cocker) – I Picked A Flower mp3

Click here to buy ‘The Jarvis Cocker Record’ from HMV for only £5.99!!

Click here to watch a live performance of ‘Fat Children’ on Newsnight Review and click here to watch him cover ‘Temptation’ with Beth Ditto.

Jarvis Cocker MySpace

6 Comments to “JARVIS – Fat Children (12″ & 7″ Singles)”

  1. that’s a funny picture on the cover. thanks for these. funny, too, that he’d pick “fat children” to release as a single–it’s not my favorite on the album by a long shot.

  2. Oooh, thanks for the heads-up about the Loss Adjuster download! I’ve been dying to be able to listen to it other than on the record.

    Jarvis as his very finest, definitely.

  3. I’d pick ‘Black Magic’ as a single, it’s out of this world. ‘Big Julie’ could be a hit too.

    In the liner notes on the 7″ & 12″ the graphic design team’s work on the cover is credited as “Raging Bull Weight Gain by TDR”. Jarvis’ sleeve notes are always worth reading.


  4. i’d agree with black magic. heard it here first, after all, on that mix-tape you made. : )

    my favorite is “from a to i,” but that’s just my melancholy talking.

  5. I can’t stop listenig to ‘Penny On The Train Tracks’ by Ben Kweller. I got that from you a while back, I think. What a song, perfect production, out of this world lyrics.


  6. i don’t think you did, actually, coz i don’t know that song! : )

    that drives me crazy when i want to know where i found something but can’t remember or find it anywhere.

    now i’ll have to go try to find this one.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: