SHAM SHAM – 99 Hearts

I just picked up this brilliant and quirky new mashup on 12″.

Sham Sham – 99 Hearts mp3

This track is a veritable six-degrees-of-separation of sampling. Firstly, the vocal from the Sham Sham track is taken from the Rick Rubin produced ’99 Problems’ and the music is largely sampled from Architecture In Helsinki’s ‘Heart It Races’:

Jay-Z – 99 Problems mp3

Architecture In Helsinki – Heart It Races mp3

’99 Problems’ borrows elements of many records, including most prominently:

Ice-T – 99 Problems mp3

UGK – Touched mp3

But the big sample is from:

Billy Squier – Big Beat mp3

Which Dizzee Rascal used just a couple of months before on:

Dizzee Rascal – Fix Up, Look Sharp mp3

Which was sampled on and referenced by Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip on:

Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip – Fixed mp3

Lastly, is of course the legendary and most famous Remix/Bootleg of ’99 Problems’, the ‘Helter Skelter’ sampling:

Danger Mouse – 99 Problems mp3

I could go on all day, but I’ll just finish by linking to a few YouTube vids of the above tracks:

Jay-Z – 99 Problems (Video)
Architecture In Helsinki – Heart It Races (Video)
Billy Squier – The Big Beat (Video)
Dizzee Rascal – Fix Up, Look Sharp (Video)
Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip – Fixed (Live Video)
Danger Mouse – 99 Problems (Video)

14 Responses to “SHAM SHAM – 99 Hearts”

  1. Hey, like your site. Can we send you mp3s to review?
    If you could drop me an email that’d be great.

    Cheers,
    Dedee

  2. where can i download this frm?? ur link doesnt work anymore, crazy mash up

  3. dude ya got so many good .mp3s here-I especially wanna get my ears on that Sham Sham one since I DJ to crowds that love both 99 Probs and Herat it Races..but your bandwidths all gone…maybe ya gotta use shitty ol zShare or a better alternative…

  4. What an incredible music blog! I just found it!

    “Stop me”… Stop you? It looks like something already has! Why? Oh, why? Please come back!

    -J

  5. I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting article

  6. yeah, is there a way where we can download this track? I hear it so much now and I just love it!

  7. This is the first time I commented here and I should say that you provide us genuine, and quality information for bloggers! Good job.
    p.s. You have an awesome template . Where have you got it from?

  8. Thanks for the props!

    The template is one of the standard wordpress themes (Theme = Black Letterhead by Ulysses Ronquillo), was actually getting sick of it and thinking of changing up.

    Hmmm…. can’t find one better though.

    Ryan (StopMe)

  9. sham sham rock i am so gay

  10. i love sham sham whooo whoooo

  11. This weblog is just excellent, I assumed I do know a great deal, but I’m so mistaken, like the prior saying the additional you already know, the extra you discover out how small you know. Thanks for the info.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

