Why Bother?

Recently, I got this message on my WordPress dashboard:

“Warning: We have a concern about some of the content on your blog. Please click here to contact us as soon as possible to resolve the issue and re-enable posting”

I found I was locked out of posting.  I contacted WordPress and discovered my account had been suspended for an article I’d posted two years ago reviewing Richard Hawley’s wonderful ‘Hotel Room’ single (Click here to read it).  Apparently WordPress had been contacted to say I had to remove the links to copyrighted material.  But I was linking to five mp3s Richard is hosting on his own website… absolutely free!

The left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing.  On one side, Record Labels scour blogs for copyright infringing material, dishing out threatening emails without even reading the blogs in question.  On the other side, the same Record Labels flood bloggers in-boxes with emails (Quite literally) begging for articles to be written, with mp3s attached for sharing with public.  They’re trying to have there cake and eat it.

Maybe a website could be set up (OffBlog.com??) where Labels can log protests that they don’t want to be blogged about, and us bloggers can trot along, read the names and happily have a media blackout for the companies that so wish it.  I suspect it would have few takers.

Time and time again these copyright measures are introduced and as always they seemed designed to impede, annoy and cheat the genuine paying customer, and committed fan. For example:

Copyrighted CDs (They don’t play on CD players!!!!)
Solution -> Get a pirate copy
Copyright warnings on DVDs (You are forced to sit trough them each and every time!!!)
Solution -> Get a pirate copy
Usage restrictions on digital music (For music you’ve just paid for!!!)
Solution -> Get a pirate copy

The industry needs to spend less time harassing the very people who spend hours of time promoting their artists for them and more time thinking of ways to sustain music sales.  Look at recent releases from artists like Radiohead, Oasis, Duke Special, Chris Rea and Laura Marling.  Each artist has produced a super-deluxe boxset version of their albums retailing for around the £50 mark.  They are lapped up, because people are willing to pay for a genuine artifact that you can hold, touch, read, listen to and even smell.  It’s all about added content, just like the lovely DVD boxsets (Crammed with bonus features) that we all shell out for.

Rant over.

Click here to buy Richard Hawley’s fantastic ‘Coles Corner’ album.

P.S. Here’s the music and DVD collection of someone who’s clearly cheating the record industry out of it’s money:

3 Comments to “Why Bother?”

  1. haha that happened to me last week when i posted love lockdown by kanye west and they said next time my blog would be deleted

    im careful of what i post know haha

  2. I was reading that Kanye had redone a track off his album because it got slated in the blogosphere. Wonder if it was that one.

    Ryan (StopMe)

  3. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

