I Knew The Consequences

I liked MusicLikeDirt’s recent 21 song guessing game (Though I couldn’t guess a single one) so I decided to do my own.  Here’s how it works:

Step 1: Put your music player on random.
Step 2: Record the first line from the first 21 songs that play (Unless it’s an instrumental.  If so, skip on one).
Step 3: Name the post after the first line of the 22nd song you get.
Step 4: Post it and let everyone try and guess the songs (No Googling the lyrics… that wouldn’t be cricket!)

It can be fiendishly difficult but if you don’t get at least three straight of the bat from my list then there’s clearly something wrong (Christ, one of the first lines of one of the songs is the bloody title!).  Good luck:

Oh well I woke up tonight
When I was small and Christmas trees were tall
As the morning turned my way
You’re an idiot
I want a love that’s right
Oh my pen ran out the room
Hello Mr big-shot
Underground the heat is rising
You asked me to give up the hand of the girl I love
Since I met you this house has started to decay
Brazil, where hearts are entertained in June
On her way to work one morning
For you I was a flame
Sir you approve the proceedings
Yer now me and my baby walkin’ down the street
Once there was me, there was you
Fell in love with a girl
(The White Stripes – Fell In Love With A Girl)
Rag and bone, rag and bone, rag and bone, rag and bone
(The White Stripes – Rag & Bone)
When I see you my knees go weak
The last night on Maudlin Street
Well it took me a woman late last night

P.S. The22nd song was ‘Rocks & Penalties’ by Ohio Indie-Punk kids ShiSho.  Here it is:

ShiSho – Rocks & Penalties mp3

And here’s the video for ShiSho’s ‘America Will Punch You’:

7 Comments to “I Knew The Consequences”

  1. Ouch they’re hard…I’ve only got the White Stripes ‘fell in love with a girl’ one. Hard not to get that though!

  2. Is rag and bone the white stripes too!? You’re supposed to put it on random with all your library not just Jack white 😉

  3. Phew I thought you were slipping there. It does mention the title four times!

    So wierd that, despite it having some 14500 songs to choose from, it manages to come up with two WS singles in a row!

    Still two songs with the title in the first line. Plus there is one other that you’ll absolutely kick yourself for. You’ve even blogged about it!

    Ryan.

  4. Thank you for putting up our video! How did you hear about us? Thank you for listening and sharing our music and video! Have a Merry Christmas.

    ~Vivian 🙂

  5. I nabbed that lovely Filthy Little Angels 7″ package. Some great tracks!

    Meryy Christmas!

    Ryan (StopMe)

  6. I am not really superb with English but I find this really easy to translate.

  7. Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely excellent. I really like what you have got right here, really like what you are saying and the way by which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a great website.

Leave a Reply

