TEN4SE7EN: Episode 47

This might be the last TEN4SE7EN for a few weeks because I’m gonna be busy with work, so I’ve found ten extra-specially great tunes:

While MCA is being treated for cancer the new Beastie Boys album is on hold.  While we are all wishing him the best, the boys have just dropped a hot new 12″ to tide us over called ‘Too Many Rappers (Feat. Nas)’.

Camera Obscura’s ‘French Navy’ is the kind of perfect Pop song that within one listen has you feeling like you’ve always known it.  Strings take flight, Spector-esque Drums crash and Tracyanne’s voice is sheer beauty.

I’ve been seeing Dirty Projectors’ album everywhere and I thought it was about time I checked it out.  The Indie-Pop within is worth all the praise, but my favourite track is the handclap-tastic ‘No Intention’.

I’ve been listening to Dizzee Rascal’s new single ‘Holiday (Feat. Chrome)’ for the last fortnight but I’ve only just decided it’s bonafide genius.  I can’t understand why I didn’t adore the pumping Dance production and smart Rhymes from the first second.

Fort Know Five keep on releasing fresh remixes of their ‘Radio Free DC’ LP and I’m yet to hear one I haven’t loved.  The clattering Drums and funky beats of ‘Insight (The Nextmen Remix)’ rises above even their high standards.

Jakwob’s superb remix of Killa Kela’s ‘Everyday’ takes it into brutal Dubstep territory.  It’s the best Dubstep rework since Skream’s remix of La Roux’s ‘In For The Kill’.

I’ve been waiting with baited breath for the official release of Pase Rock’s intergalacticly awesome track ‘So Fucking Disco’ for the last year.  Then today I was thrilled to discover it had been quietly released on iTunes a while back and what was even better, it was paired with another amazing Rap cut called ‘Get Money Kids’.

The jangly Indie of Phoenix’s ‘Lisztomania’ is an absolute delight.  The rest of their ‘Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix’ LP is almost as good.

Sabbo’s ‘Spanish Fly (Feat. MC Zulu) (Noiz In Zion Mix)’
is a cracking a Dancehall cut.  It’ll have your neck snappin’ within seconds.

Toddla T’s superb album is a crazy collision of genres from Indie to Grime and I love the way each track segues into the next.  My favourite track is a bouncy-celebration-of-food called ‘Rice & Peas (Feat. Mr Versatile)’ and the lyrics will leave you feelin’ ravenous.

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD A ZIP CONTAINING ALL TEN MP3s

Beastie Boys MySpace / Purchase
Camera Obscura MySpace / Purchase
Dirty Projectors MySpace / Purchase
Dizzee Rascal MySpace / Purchase
Fort Knox Five MySpace / Purchase
Killa Kela MySpace / Purchase
Pase Rock MySpace / Purchase
Phoenix MySpace / Purchase
Sabbo MySpace / Purchase
Toddla T MySpace / Purchase

I cannot overstate the immenseness of this video for Sabbo’s ‘Spanish Fly’:

Leave a Reply

