The Indelicates – David Koresh Superstar Out On 16th May (Rejoice!!!)

If you are somehow unaware of it, The Indelicates are one of the finest bands these isles have produced in the last few years.  I’ve been following them since I reviewed their first single on this blog back in 2006, declaring it “No less than an anthem for our times”. Their second album ‘Songs For Swinging Lovers’ was the album of last year and it’s best track ‘Savages’ was without doubt one the greatest songs ever written. So you can imagine how excited I am by the prospect of their third album ‘David Koresh Superstar’ coming out in a few weeks.

Two years ago I declared the original demo of ‘I Don’t Care If It’s True’ as one of my tracks of the year. I described it as “A gorgeous song from Simon’s possibly factious Musical ‘David Koresh Superstar’”.  Well it was clearly no joke as a studio version surfaced last year and The Indelicates have announced the full musical is being released on 16th May 2011.

As an april-fools prank they did a press release claiming they were tailoring their sounds to fit popular tastes and released a special Dubstep Mix of ‘I Am Koresh’. predictably it’s rather brilliant:

I’m counting down the days, hours and minutes till this album comes out!

Here’s the original demo of ‘I Don’t Care If It’s True’ mp3

As a final treat, here’s a vitriolic (If low-fi) rendition of ‘We Hate The Kids’ from SXSW:

Leave a Reply

