MANIC STREET PREACHERS – Underdogs (7″ Single / Free Download)

Columbia 88697075597: 19th March 2007
“This ones for the freaks, beaten down and lost, the shy and withdrawn, or just out of touch”

The lord be praised, a new Manics single! They rank amongst my all-time favourite artists and I’ve got almost all their records (Within financial constraints). The two fantastic solo albums have tided me over since the limited edition ‘God Save The Manics’ EP from two years ago, but this ones the real deal… “This ones for the freaks!”

I haven’t heard the as-yet unreleased ‘Send Away The Tigers’ album that this single is gleamed from, so I couldn’t comment on that. However, ‘Underdogs’ is a savage return to the kind of thunderous Rock ‘n’ Roll that made their debut album so much fun. Specifically, it brings to mind the “Us against them” anthemic qualities of songs like ‘Stay Beautiful’ (It even has the line “You’re so Beautiful”). It’s got a menacing Bass line from Nicky, violent Drums from Sean and best of all, cataclysmicly massive power-chords from James.

‘Underdogs’ is released as a super-limited 7″ (You’re gonna have to check Ebay for it) and as a free mp3. You can get ‘Underdogs’ by signing up for the mailing list on the MSP Website.

Here are eight rarities I’ve dug out from my collection. Enjoy, and then click here to pre-order the new album from HMV for only £8.99.

Antarctic mp3 (Japan only bonus track)
Bright Eyes (Live 1994) mp3 (Haunting acoustic cover from Richey’s last gig)
Happy Ending mp3 (Greatest Hits B-side)
Let Robeson Sing (Ian Brown Remix) mp3 (Witness Ian’s rapping skills!)
Little Trolls mp3 (Cassette only B-side)
Sculpture Of Man mp3 (Holy Bible B-side)
She Is Suffering (Acoustic) mp3
Too Cold Here mp3 (Holy Bible B-side)

Manic Street Preachers Website / Manic Street Preachers MySpace

14 Comments to “MANIC STREET PREACHERS – Underdogs (7″ Single / Free Download)”

  1. Love that you post about the Manics! Being a US fan most of this stuff is SO hard to come by. Any chance you will re-link the above tracks any time soon?

  2. Re Timm. I’ve deleted those tracks, so it would take ages to re-post them. Let me know if there are one or two Manics tracks you want and I’ll email them to you.

    Ryan.

  3. Hi Ryan,
    Sorry about the lateness of this reply, been busy at work for what seems like years. I would love to have Little Trolls just so I don’t have to find the cassette, and if you happen to have the two bonus cuts from the Japanese edition of Lifeblood – Antarctic and the Soulmates I would be eternally grateful. If you are into Suede or Blur I would be happy to email you some rarities of theirs like the fan club singles!

    Timm

  4. I can email those tracks to you if you want but what’s your email? (Email it to me)

    Ryan.

  5. Hi Ryan, it’s

    timmonthedrums@comcast.net

    and thanks a lot!

  6. I’m looking to get Antarctic and Happy Ending — any chance there’s up somewhere?

  7. Hey I was wondering if you would kindly email the Too Cold Here mp3? Gosh I’ve been looking for that. Thnxs

  8. hey could you email the rest of those tracks I’s greatly appreciate that.

    Thanks

  9. Hey,

    Would you be able email me the above tracks as well please?

    They are a nightmare to find!!

    It would be much appreciated

    Thanks

  10. Hi! Could you email me Too Cold Here and Little Trolls? I’ve been looking for a few missing b-sides, and they’re ridiculously difficult to find!! It’d be massively appreciated! Thanks!!!

  11. I’ve got a copy of the original ltd edition Manics Suicide Alley single (cover slightly damaged) I’ve alos got the introduction letter sent out by the Manics themselves (seriously limited!!!)…would like to sell for the right price but would love it to go to a serious fan…anyone interested????? This is a genuine item and genuine reason for sale!!

  12. Hey, if you still have a copy of Little Trolls I would be very thankful if you would send it my way. I have a few DVD b-sides I’d be more than happy to trade you in return. Cheers.

  13. Hi, I’ve been trying to track down Little Trolls, Antarctic and The Soulmates – don’t suppose you could help..? Not sure what I can offer in exchange though :-S

  14. Anyway, you have an interesting take on this this particular topic. Please update this blog regularly! By the way, can your readers to submit to you questions they would like to personally ask you about? Right now I have a specific question on this subject since I am going through a challenging situation with a girl I like and I am not sure how to proceed. I’d like to ask for your input…or perhaps someone can recommend a book that I ought to read?

Leave a comment